NY Times Pros and Cons of Biofuels

As I alluded to in class, the New York Times provided a rather simplified explanation of biofuels and what implications they might have. It doesn’t go into too much detail but I think that it lists some points that I found particularly interesting.  First of all, they mention that biofuels have been blamed for causing unforeseen environmental damage and also causing for a decrease in the amount of food produced annually; this could perhaps explain the sharp increase in food prices.  Also important was how the article mentioned that it takes a substantial amount of fossil fuels to  refine biofuels, leaving me with an impression that these fuels may not be as helpful as some might think.  I liked this article because aside from all of the science, economics plays an equal role in determining what fuels are best for a given society.

NY Times Simplified Reaction Toward Biofuels

Comments are closed.

